PDA

View Full Version : Server Security - DDoS attacks

lpxxfaintxx
04-25-2006, 06:18 PM
How would you protect your server from DDoS attacks? I am new at these kind of stuff and I am curious..

Tyler
04-26-2006, 03:39 AM
I'm no expert at managing servers though I do have some prior hacking/linux type based experience in the good ol' days. If memory serves me correctly, and if things haven't changes all that much... I believe there is not much you can do to stop these types of attacks. If someone really wants to do it then they will. You can only really try and stop the effects of the attacks.

lpxxfaintxx
04-26-2006, 06:45 PM
Oh, well I've heard of custom programs and firewalls. Like aplus.net and other dedicated server providers.

xMerCLorDx
04-26-2006, 07:38 PM
- Don't make enemies.
- Don't promote immoral, unethical, sectarian, political, inhumane, anti-intellectual property products or services.

The list can continue, even to things you assume are good. Just don't piss off the wrong nerd.

A way to beat them to it if you know who is against your organization is to research the person and take control of their botnet before they tell it to kill your server.

Or the aftermath approach, take the server down, analyze all your logs and determine which sequences were of a DDoS style and ban all those IP's when you associate your server to a new IP/and/or hosting service.

Tyler
04-26-2006, 08:18 PM
Oh, well I've heard of custom programs and firewalls. Like aplus.net and other dedicated server providers.

Yeah, you can go the firewall route, and it does help to a degree if properly configured. But again, if they really want to they will.

lpxxfaintxx
04-27-2006, 06:43 AM
Oh, thanks for the replies.

Don't make enemies.

Some people attack just for fun :(

Jason425
04-27-2006, 10:46 PM
Get a beefy server!

The advise about banning ddos IPs is probably the best if you already have a good firewall.

james
04-28-2006, 01:50 AM