PDA

View Full Version : help with linux


cheapo
05-30-2002, 10:41 AM
i just installed linux mandrake 2.8 like 4 times last night thinking the way i installed it makes the problem but i still have the same problem. when i start up it says you can press 'I' for an interactive start up but that never works and when it starts a non-interactive startup i typed in my user name and password even though it looks like it logged me in it just stayed there and doesn't do anything. am i doing something wrong? do i have to enter another command?

Grinnin Reaper
05-30-2002, 02:03 PM
I had the same problem with 8.1. SPAMended up being my screen resolution was incorrect and x-windows couldn't load. SPAMIt's a complete pain but generally try a lower resolution and color depth selection when setting up during install. SPAMYou made need to do a custom install for these options.

TheRogue
06-02-2002, 06:03 AM
2.8... ergg, not too old m8

you sure you didn't mean 8.2?

ive installed it tons of times myself (i dont keep it on for long as i always have a problem, atm its gfx) with no problems like that