PDA

View Full Version : Running a server without your ISP knowing..


Simo
12-14-2001, 09:36 AM
Ok....say I knew someone who wanted to ru a server....but his ISP wouldnt let him.
But he though "Well I pay for bandwidth anyway so Ill do whatever the %$*& I want".
So he has the server software setup and a free trial thingy from www.dynip.com and is trying ot figuer out way to hide the fact hes running a server fro his ISP.

heres the suggestion our friend has gotten so far..
Run a hardware and a software firewall.
Connect through a proxy so it looks like your only uploading to 1 ip.

Ok, so whats a good free proxy to connect through and what else can he do..

he thanks you for your help...of course..

Bear
12-14-2001, 09:44 AM
AnalogX SPAMproxy is free and easy to set up.

The_Other_One
12-14-2001, 04:07 PM
I'm running,and been running my internet server for about 6 months now, and have never had my ISP say anything to me. SPAMNow, I don't get to many visitors, so there isn't much banwidth used. SPAMAlso, it goes through my router, which has a firewall, so I don't know if this protects me...

http://Homission.com or http://64.53.95.207

wizbones
12-15-2001, 08:24 AM
How are you connecting?

Typically with DSL you get an IP and can pretty much use what ever you like.

Cable on the other hand, is based on the MAC address. Linksys routers have the ability of being asigned the MAC address so their none the wiser. SPAM

The_Other_One
12-15-2001, 09:55 AM
I have cable... SPAMI don't recall having to set up any MAC addresses. SPAMAll we had was stuff like IP address, domain name, gateway, and DNS.

wizbones
12-15-2001, 10:21 AM
Most cable providers do not allow servers because when you have more than one puter hooked up your eatin up bandwidth on the node. 200 subscribers per node and if everyone had two puters well do the math.

You dont set the MAC address it's hard coded in the cable modem, you have one on your NIC's too. That's how they catch you. When you start networkin your puters your MAC addresses are sent along with the packets.

The linksys is able to masqarade your MAC's with the MAC of the Cable Modem.

Did that make sense?

Simo
12-15-2001, 11:00 PM
This server would be running over DSL...which is a direct line, so I dont have to worry about hogging everyone ones bandwidth.

I just need to find a to find a way to prevwent the ISP knowing that its running.

I run it on a really obscure port (like 57011 or something), and since the ISP assigns dynamic IP addresses I have software from www.dynip.com to give me a static address.

I just need someways to hide the fact that a whole bunch of different IP addresses are logging into my computer all the time from my ISP?

Any ideas?

Omega
12-23-2001, 09:49 PM
I don't think they can really prevent you from running a server, just discourage it. SPAMThey usually use dynamic IP's to do so. SPAMThere can be multiple connections to/from your ip, without you being a server anyway. SPAMI also don't think that they have anything against sharing your connection with your home network either, so there's no reason you'd have to spoof your address. SPAMI don't think there's any way they can really prove you have a "server," just say that you were messing around with your settings in your OS, so that when you go to your ip, it brings up a web page, or ftp login, or whatever.