Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.

Old 12-01-2001, 10:45 PM
The_Other_One

Default What PDA???

I'm looking for a PDA, but I don't know which I should get...  I want a color screen for sure.  I also want a decent amout of memeory, but an expantion slot(particualary Compact Flash)  The MAIN features I want though is the abiliy to play decent sounding MP3s and Movies(off the expantion card.)  I know my dads will play short movies off the internal memories.  Am I looking for too much in a PDA?
Old 12-01-2001, 10:56 PM
Simo

Default Re: What PDA???

Im no PDA expert, but I am also looking to get one in the next month or so.
The best ive seen so far is the Compaq Ipaq.

http://athome.compaq.com/showroom/st...paq-athome.asp

Afew different models to choose from, color screen, loads of expansion and heaps of features.

Not sure about movies and MP3s but since it runs Pocket PC 2002 it sure wouldnt suprise me if it was possible.

Let me know which one you decide on so I can have a look for the best options.

Cheers

Simo
Old 12-03-2001, 12:23 AM
Hulaboy

Judging from what the both of you are describing, I would go the way of the Compaq iPaq.  In particular, I would recommend the 3765 model.  Of course, there are other PDA's from Palm, Sony, Toshiba, etc.  Personally, I have a Palm.  It works alright but the techno geek in me wishes for the iPaq 3765.  I had the opportunity to test the iPaq for a few days and I have to admit that I am absolutely impressed by it.  Playing MP3's on it was a breeze and with it's ability to use Compact Flash cards it was absolutely great!  I was only able to test a small movie file and it wasn't as good as a desktop but pretty impressive as far as PDA's are concerned.