PDA

View Full Version : Linux again


Prometheus
01-26-2003, 10:41 PM
Ok so my comp went poof on me again just what a week after getting it back

so i formatted tried to install windoze
and then (suprise suprise) windows wont let me install!!!!!!!

So i try to install linux suse 8.1

I finish

and again just like the junker comp i have it says....

frequency out of range

what is going on????????????

Grinnin Reaper
01-26-2003, 10:47 PM
Think your graphics setting are to high resolution. Happened to me on my flat panel when my roommate cranked the resolution up to high. Try a lower resolution if you can.

Prometheus
01-26-2003, 11:14 PM
how do i change it? in dos? in bios?


also this happened on a junker computer too
an ati rage slow processer

Uranium-235
01-27-2003, 04:00 AM
it would have to be changed in the OS. I know how to do it in redhat (without booting X), but I'm not sure about Suse.

Grinnin Reaper
01-27-2003, 12:12 PM
same here man, I know it can be changed at the command line, but I couldn't tell you how. You could always hook up a newer monitor for a few minutes. Change it to a lower resolution, then swap back the older monitor. That's about all I know.