PDA

View Full Version : Possible Fraud Beware!


Jason
04-28-2004, 09:57 AM
I got the following email from service@usbank.com :

<html>
<head>
<title></title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>

<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" text="#000000">
Dear U.S. Bank valued member,


Due to concerns, for the safety and integrity of the online

banking community we have issued this warning message.


It has come to our attention that your account information needs

to be updated due to inactive members, frauds and spoof reports.

If you could please take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and renew

your records you will not run into any future problems with the online service.

However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension.

This notification expires on April 30, 2004.


Once you have updated your account records your internet banking

service will not be interrupted and will continue as normal.


Please follow the link below

and renew your account information.




<a href="http://61.221.243.26/www/ >U.S. Bank Internet Banking</a> </p>
</body>
</html>

The site looks fishy especially since the home page shows a secure logo which is total garbage. Also this is an IP address your connecting to. Let me know what you guys can find out.

Is this fraud? the page asks for a lot of information that it should not, everything needed to sucessfully steal and charge on your card. Im not giving this site anything and I suggest that no one does. Just thought I would make you all aware of this fraudulent site.

Jason425
04-28-2004, 11:07 AM
it's possible to spoof email addresses.. don't give that stuff away through email..

xMerCLorDx
04-28-2004, 12:36 PM
no worries, the site was shutdown anyway.

This site has been suspended by
network administrator.

If you are the owner of this domain, please open a My Website has been Suspended Support Ticket for further information. Please include the domain name which has been suspended.

If you are a visitor, please visit this site again later.

Jason425
04-28-2004, 12:39 PM
and if you go to http://61.221.243.26 - it's just some chinese site..

Jason
04-28-2004, 12:44 PM
The site is still active on my end.

Prometheus
04-28-2004, 01:52 PM
Me too

Dont trust it plain and simple

it is possible to spoof the domain name easily i once got a virus from support@microsoft.com (didnt open it)

If there was an actual problem they would call you.

Dragon
04-28-2004, 01:52 PM
i beleive it is old fraud, didnt that make a huge thing in the news a ways back..?

Jason425
04-28-2004, 06:14 PM
seems like anyone could call you and claim to be from somewhere and want your info