Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.

  #1  
Old 05-28-2001, 11:05 PM
Creed182
 
Posts: n/a
Default Windows ME

I want to know what kinds of problem people have been having w/ this os. SPAMTell me your system and what you use it for. SPAMIf you've never had a problem with ME tell me that too along w/ specs and use. SPAMThanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2001, 11:34 PM
Hulaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows ME

I like the user interface of ME but compared to WIN 98SE's stability I'd rather have WIN 98SE. I recently got an HP Pavilion 7865 and it came with ME. SPAMLately, my roommate has been using it more than I have...hehehe. I'm planning on using it mostly for video editing and such. That'll have to wait until this quarter comes to a grinding halt in the coming weeks though.

The problem that I see most of the time is IE locking up. SPAMI don't know, for some odd reason it keeps locking up and I'd just have to either restart or hope that it recovers after crashing.

All in all, I guess ME is okay but I stilll prefer WIN 98SE over it. It could just be because I'm so used to 98SE...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2001, 11:45 PM
Keefe Keefe is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,337
Send a message via ICQ to Keefe Send a message via AIM to Keefe Send a message via MSN to Keefe Send a message via Yahoo to Keefe
Default Re: Windows ME

I have not worked with Windows ME too much, but from what I have seen it is just Windows 98 with more "fluff." SPAMIf you are looking for os that is very easy to use and has a lot of neat feature use windows me, but if you are looking for something much more stable and a bit faster go with Windows 2000 Professional
__________________
It's crazy I'm thinking, just knowing that the world is round.
-http://www.techwarepc.com/ - The Technology Experts
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2001, 11:53 PM
Hulaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows ME

Yeah, I totally agree with you on the "fluffiness" of ME. I have another computer that is running Win2k Pro and I'm completely happy with it. I get the better interface of ME and the stability of NT. Very nice! However, I find that Win2k is just a tad bit slower than Win 98SE. What's your experience with that? Do you find 98SE faster or slower than Win2k?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2001, 11:57 PM
Keefe Keefe is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,337
Send a message via ICQ to Keefe Send a message via AIM to Keefe Send a message via MSN to Keefe Send a message via Yahoo to Keefe
Default Re: Windows ME

In the instance of my computer here at home i found that windows 2000 prof runs faster that windows 98. SPAMI have a PIII- 450 and 256 megs of ram in this machine.

On older systems windows 98 will probally run slower since win 2k likes more ram and faster processors for better performance.
__________________
It's crazy I'm thinking, just knowing that the world is round.
-http://www.techwarepc.com/ - The Technology Experts
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2001, 03:59 PM
Creed182
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows ME

I agree win2K is the better os (depending on what your doing) well maybe not better persay but more relable. SPAMAnd in some cases it runs slower or faster depending on your system but for your average user they won't encounter win2k. SPAMIt wasn't really designed for the common user but more for the office and home business. SPAMAs for the fluffiness factor, I agree but fluffiness is almost a Windows TM. SPAMEver since 3.x systems the fluff has built. SPAMWindows ME is just the latest incarnation. SPAMBut as for the symtoms of a suffering Windows ME they are always the same - "locks up", I have experience the same. SPAMAs for you Hulaboy with your new HP I also have a new one. I got the Pav 6746c one of the first thing I had to do was replace my LT Win modem it seemed to bog down my ENTIRE system however once I replaced it with a USR everything seemed to perk up and lock ups seemed to deteriorate. SPAMAny explantions other that what may seem to be the obvious? SPAMAnyone?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-29-2001, 06:38 PM
kfan
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows ME

I have built five systems using ME with an Abit BE6-II mobo, PIII 533, and 128 megs of ram. SPAMThese have all been very stable with few problems. SPAMI did have problems with modems but I switched to 3Com and these went away. SPAMOn OEM systems I have found if you shutdown some of the extras that are loaded at start-up will help with lock-ups as well. SPAMFor me HP scanner software causes more than its fair share of lock-ups.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-29-2001, 07:43 PM
Hulaboy
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows ME

Hhmm...that's something to look at. Of course, I never use the modem since that HP and two Macs have wireless access through an Apple Airport Station. Perhaps I'll take it out all together and see what that does. SPAMUh oh...perhaps I won't do that because I just took a look at it right now and it seems that the modem is integrated with the game port and also where the speakers plug into. That's an odd setup...

[quote author=Creed182 link=board=windows&num=991109144&start=0#5 date=05/29/01 at 14:59:56]
...the first thing I had to do was replace my LT Win modem it seemed to bog down my ENTIRE system however once I replaced it with a USR everything seemed to perk up and lock ups seemed to deteriorate.
[/quote]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2001, 07:48 PM
Keefe Keefe is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,337
Send a message via ICQ to Keefe Send a message via AIM to Keefe Send a message via MSN to Keefe Send a message via Yahoo to Keefe
Default Re: Windows ME

Yeah a lot of new computer manufacturers are trying to save money by having many of the hardware features built on to the motherboards. SPAMUsually there is a was to disable the built-on modem, the option would be either right on the motherboard-- like a jumper that disables it, or a option in the BIOS.
__________________
It's crazy I'm thinking, just knowing that the world is round.
-http://www.techwarepc.com/ - The Technology Experts
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-31-2001, 03:33 PM
pooty
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows ME

A clean install of ME is fine, as opposed to an upgrade. SPAMHowever, if the System Restore feature is turned on, ME will, over time, become very slow and ponderous.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum style by ForumMonkeys.