Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.


Go Back   Techwarelabs Community > Tech > Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-15-2004, 06:16 PM
StinkyMojo StinkyMojo is offline
Mad Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Black Mesa Research Facility
Posts: 2,935
Default

dual boot man... you can install each os on a separate partition... thats how you can dual boot between linux and winxp also..
__________________

Asus A8N SLI - Opteron 148 @ 2.8 under a Zalman 7000cu LED - XFX 7800GT oc'd - 1gb Kingston Hyper X pc3000 BH5 2-2-2 - OCZ ModStream 450watt - WD 36gb Raptor - WD 320gb Storage Drive - Antec Super LanBoy - NEC 3550A 16x DVD Burner
Accessories:
ViewSonic VA1912wb 19" 8ms Widescreen - Plantronics Audio 90 - Logitech Z-640 5.1 - Razer Diamondback Plasma LE on a Ratpadz GS
Linux Box:
Pending..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-15-2004, 07:05 PM
Jason425 Jason425 is offline
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,353
Send a message via AIM to Jason425 Send a message via Yahoo to Jason425
Default

with xp installed.. 2k can't be.. at least from windows.. when you have stupid school versions of 2k.. i've dual booted.. i know.. 2k+xp =
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1420 in Midnight Blue - Intel Core2Duo T7300 2.0GHZ/4MB - 2GB Ram - Nvidia 8400 GS 128mb - DVD/RW - 160GB 7200RPM - 14.1" Antiglare - Intel 4965AGN - Bluetooth 2.0 - 2MP Webcam - Vista Home Premium
2005 Mazda3i in Strato Blue
http://www.jasondsmith.net

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-15-2004, 11:21 PM
vee_ess's Avatar
vee_ess vee_ess is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,781
Send a message via ICQ to vee_ess Send a message via AIM to vee_ess Send a message via MSN to vee_ess Send a message via Yahoo to vee_ess
Default

You can't start the Windows 2000 installation from Windows XP, because XP thinks you are replacing it with a previous OS, which won't let you do. Just boot from the Windows 2000 CD and you can start the installation fine. Make sure you either install it to another drive or partition, or even just a new system root. What I mean by that, is that to install to the same partition on the same drive, you must have a new Windows folder. Generally I use win** for each OS if I choose to do that; for example I'll have system roots of C:\WIN2K and C:\WIN98 for Windows 2000 and Windows 98 respectively. So far, when I have done this, I haven't had any problems. The important folders and folder groups are named differently as the OS installation will detect that they are already there and must create new names for the folders. If something were to happen you can always go to the registry real quick and just change the directory paths.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-16-2004, 06:00 PM
Jason425 Jason425 is offline
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,353
Send a message via AIM to Jason425 Send a message via Yahoo to Jason425
Default

yea but my school gives out ms software like candy.. but it's not the real thing.. it's just install files.. not osi's.. not bootable.. and since 2k isn't worth the effort.. i've never had a 2k machine..
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1420 in Midnight Blue - Intel Core2Duo T7300 2.0GHZ/4MB - 2GB Ram - Nvidia 8400 GS 128mb - DVD/RW - 160GB 7200RPM - 14.1" Antiglare - Intel 4965AGN - Bluetooth 2.0 - 2MP Webcam - Vista Home Premium
2005 Mazda3i in Strato Blue
http://www.jasondsmith.net

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-17-2004, 10:57 AM
vee_ess's Avatar
vee_ess vee_ess is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,781
Send a message via ICQ to vee_ess Send a message via AIM to vee_ess Send a message via MSN to vee_ess Send a message via Yahoo to vee_ess
Default

2000 is definately worth the effort; make a boot disk for it, or burn the CD's you get from school again, but make it bootable and throw on the files you'll need to start setup.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-20-2004, 10:17 AM
StinkyMojo StinkyMojo is offline
Mad Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Black Mesa Research Facility
Posts: 2,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason425
yea but my school gives out ms software like candy.. but it's not the real thing.. it's just install files.. not osi's.. not bootable.. and since 2k isn't worth the effort.. i've never had a 2k machine..
They actually are bootable.. I have about 4 from the school not one is not.
__________________

Asus A8N SLI - Opteron 148 @ 2.8 under a Zalman 7000cu LED - XFX 7800GT oc'd - 1gb Kingston Hyper X pc3000 BH5 2-2-2 - OCZ ModStream 450watt - WD 36gb Raptor - WD 320gb Storage Drive - Antec Super LanBoy - NEC 3550A 16x DVD Burner
Accessories:
ViewSonic VA1912wb 19" 8ms Widescreen - Plantronics Audio 90 - Logitech Z-640 5.1 - Razer Diamondback Plasma LE on a Ratpadz GS
Linux Box:
Pending..
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-20-2004, 06:12 PM
Jason425 Jason425 is offline
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,353
Send a message via AIM to Jason425 Send a message via Yahoo to Jason425
Default

uh yea ok dunno what you're talking about.. the cd consists of 3 folders.. with a different OS in each folder... The cd isn't an iso and there is no boot.ini or whatever.. so tell me .. what does the cd boot into? Does it just guess?
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1420 in Midnight Blue - Intel Core2Duo T7300 2.0GHZ/4MB - 2GB Ram - Nvidia 8400 GS 128mb - DVD/RW - 160GB 7200RPM - 14.1" Antiglare - Intel 4965AGN - Bluetooth 2.0 - 2MP Webcam - Vista Home Premium
2005 Mazda3i in Strato Blue
http://www.jasondsmith.net

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-05-2004, 08:48 AM
davil
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Either way, dual booting is easy. Unless you don't have a 98 boot disk, in which case you're making your own life a misery. I have successfully dual booted 98,2k + xp, and I'm pretty sure I can dual boot all other Microsoft OSes with ranish partition manager (just hiding the other partitions so the man don't know what's happening ) and Extended Operating System Loader.

for 98,2k and xp you don't need Xosl or ranish, all you need is the Operating systems and at least one dos / 98 bootdisk with cd rom support on it. From that you can install 2k first in your case and then install Xp and make sure you pick clean installation. also there some advanced options which you can do like a tick for picking exactly which partition you want to put the OS on. the only thing you must remember is that you have to start with 2k and then to xp. it works like this 98->2k->xp.

If you want any help you can contact me via email on pojomcbooty@hotmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-05-2004, 12:21 PM
StinkyMojo StinkyMojo is offline
Mad Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Black Mesa Research Facility
Posts: 2,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason425
so tell me .. what does the cd boot into? Does it just guess?
No, you have to specify which folder to boot from... there is an OS in this world called DOS.. and it was made by microsoft. Well you use it and open up a folder and boot from it. You want me to tell you now how to install an OS?
__________________

Asus A8N SLI - Opteron 148 @ 2.8 under a Zalman 7000cu LED - XFX 7800GT oc'd - 1gb Kingston Hyper X pc3000 BH5 2-2-2 - OCZ ModStream 450watt - WD 36gb Raptor - WD 320gb Storage Drive - Antec Super LanBoy - NEC 3550A 16x DVD Burner
Accessories:
ViewSonic VA1912wb 19" 8ms Widescreen - Plantronics Audio 90 - Logitech Z-640 5.1 - Razer Diamondback Plasma LE on a Ratpadz GS
Linux Box:
Pending..
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-05-2004, 12:31 PM
Jason425 Jason425 is offline
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,353
Send a message via AIM to Jason425 Send a message via Yahoo to Jason425
Default

i don't use dos.. in fact I don't have dos.. IN FACT i don't even need dos.. because good os's like xp can boot off the cd :/
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1420 in Midnight Blue - Intel Core2Duo T7300 2.0GHZ/4MB - 2GB Ram - Nvidia 8400 GS 128mb - DVD/RW - 160GB 7200RPM - 14.1" Antiglare - Intel 4965AGN - Bluetooth 2.0 - 2MP Webcam - Vista Home Premium
2005 Mazda3i in Strato Blue
http://www.jasondsmith.net

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum style by ForumMonkeys.