Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.

  #1  
Old 04-15-2003, 01:00 AM
Jason425 Jason425 is offline
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,353
Send a message via AIM to Jason425 Send a message via Yahoo to Jason425
Default Locked out of my own comp...

I'm on XP Pro, usualy it was on auto-login, but lately it would come up with my name and if I just clicked the icon it'd log on.. i go to baseball and come back and now it is administrator with a different icon (was a snowflake now the chess pieces) and i've tried everything that i have ever used as a password.. i also tried booting off my other HD, which aparantly I didn't make bootable because it just says "press a key to restart" i hate that error with a passion btw.. I'm on my other comp typing this.. of course very concerned and upset that i'm locked out of my own comp... I would reinstall XP as thats all i can think of to do but I dont have my CD with me at the moment.. and wont until next monday or so.. i tried all the safe modes but it still makes you sign in.. I sure don't remember changing my log in settings and i dont think anyone that lives with me knows how either.. What should i do?? I'm about to go to bed i'll check back in the morning, make my day tomorrow by helping me fix this! :/ I bet i sound like a big time newb there (snowflake/chesspiece)but I just want to get everything on the table..
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1420 in Midnight Blue - Intel Core2Duo T7300 2.0GHZ/4MB - 2GB Ram - Nvidia 8400 GS 128mb - DVD/RW - 160GB 7200RPM - 14.1" Antiglare - Intel 4965AGN - Bluetooth 2.0 - 2MP Webcam - Vista Home Premium
2005 Mazda3i in Strato Blue
http://www.jasondsmith.net

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2003, 12:38 PM
Jason425 Jason425 is offline
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,353
Send a message via AIM to Jason425 Send a message via Yahoo to Jason425
Default

thanks for nothing i eventualy got tired of not being able to use my comp so i stuck both HD's from this comp into my other comp and used partition magic to copy my backup drive (that wouldnt boot) to my.. hijacked drive.. now everything works.. i think..
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1420 in Midnight Blue - Intel Core2Duo T7300 2.0GHZ/4MB - 2GB Ram - Nvidia 8400 GS 128mb - DVD/RW - 160GB 7200RPM - 14.1" Antiglare - Intel 4965AGN - Bluetooth 2.0 - 2MP Webcam - Vista Home Premium
2005 Mazda3i in Strato Blue
http://www.jasondsmith.net

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2003, 04:56 AM
TheRogue
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i only just checked the forums again :P

did you try loginning in as administrator with a password?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2003, 02:10 PM
Jason425 Jason425 is offline
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,353
Send a message via AIM to Jason425 Send a message via Yahoo to Jason425
Default

it would only let me try to log in as admin, (usualy it says Jason) there wasnt even the little ? to get a password hint.. the craziest things happen to my comp.. but its over now
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1420 in Midnight Blue - Intel Core2Duo T7300 2.0GHZ/4MB - 2GB Ram - Nvidia 8400 GS 128mb - DVD/RW - 160GB 7200RPM - 14.1" Antiglare - Intel 4965AGN - Bluetooth 2.0 - 2MP Webcam - Vista Home Premium
2005 Mazda3i in Strato Blue
http://www.jasondsmith.net

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2003, 05:15 PM
wildcard
 
Posts: n/a
Default

could someone have gotten on your computer and changed account info around when you were away?

-WC-
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-05-2003, 01:12 AM
james
 
Posts: n/a
Default

for any future problems with this, there are solutions for you. this site: http://www.atstake.com/research/lc/ or if you are feeling lucky/are familiar with linux: http://home.eunet.no/~pnordahl/ntpasswd/ . Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-05-2003, 07:32 PM
h4x0r
 
Posts: n/a
Default

If you need help with this here u go:
:Get into ur computer in Safe mode (god knows teh key to do that anymore.. i forgot)
:Go to start>control panel>users
and then change the password to what you wish or take of the password.

:After restarting you should be able to log in

Complements of h4x0r!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-05-2003, 08:07 PM
Uranium-235's Avatar
Uranium-235 Uranium-235 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Mansfield, TX
Posts: 2,469
Send a message via ICQ to Uranium-235 Send a message via AIM to Uranium-235
Default

Safe mode is F8 for 2k, I'm guessing in XP it's the same, since XP is just NT5.1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2003, 06:54 PM
 
Posts: n/a
Default

rescue your essiental files using your winxp rescue setting... which is on the Winxp cd, then reinstall.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum style by ForumMonkeys.