Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.

  #1  
Old 05-28-2003, 04:31 PM
Prometheus Prometheus is offline
Chronique Technique
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bellingham,WA
Posts: 3,058
Send a message via AIM to Prometheus
Default Old comp format

My grandmother has an old computer i have no idea what model but it uses dos

Its a longer computer with about a 6 inch monitor built into it

Generally its c:\format

I am not sure though for this format woudl somone give me some other formats commands that may pop up

ill get more info about the comp as i can
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2003, 10:59 PM
Grinnin Reaper
 
Posts: n/a
Default

actually it's "format c:"

in real versions of dos (anything included windows 95 or higher isn't real dos) you can just type help and a list of almost all standard commands will pop up.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2003, 11:18 PM
Prometheus Prometheus is offline
Chronique Technique
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bellingham,WA
Posts: 3,058
Send a message via AIM to Prometheus
Default

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2003, 06:15 PM
Prometheus Prometheus is offline
Chronique Technique
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bellingham,WA
Posts: 3,058
Send a message via AIM to Prometheus
Default

I have a lot of the original papers, here is info. from original sales
slip 9/24/91: crt vga color
M/B 386sx
Ram iMBx9 simm
F/D 1.2 MB
F/D 1.44 MB
controller w/2S, iP
display card vga / 1MB
DOS 5.0

it cost $2165.00
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-31-2003, 04:02 AM
TheRogue
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ugh, 386, that's 33Mhz isn't it

have fun!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-01-2003, 02:02 AM
GBRRICCI
 
Posts: n/a
Default

wow what does it do? pong and word perfect?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-01-2003, 12:54 PM
Omega Omega is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 957
Send a message via ICQ to Omega Send a message via AIM to Omega Send a message via MSN to Omega Send a message via Yahoo to Omega
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grinnin Reaper
anything included windows 95 or higher isn't real dos
I don't think that's actually true. I believe Windows 95 and 98 both used real DOS. Anything that runs the NT kernel doesn't use real dos, but still has a command prompt. I also believe that ME was the first of Microsoct's "home" line of operating systems (unless you count Windows 2000 Professional as a "home" OS) that phased DOS out entirely.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-01-2003, 03:01 PM
Grinnin Reaper
 
Posts: n/a
Default

They are run using dos, but Microsoft had reworked it heavily. I ran into issues with some of the old commands that just didn't work anymore. Heck they even gutted the "Help" feature out. It is Dos but it had been reworked heavily by MS. That's why I don't consider it a true version of DOS.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum style by ForumMonkeys.