Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.

Old 04-25-2006, 06:18 PM
Techie

Default Server Security - DDoS attacks

How would you protect your server from DDoS attacks? I am new at these kind of stuff and I am curious..
Old 04-26-2006, 03:39 AM
Platinium Techie

Send a message via AIM to Tyler Send a message via MSN to Tyler

I'm no expert at managing servers though I do have some prior hacking/linux type based experience in the good ol' days. If memory serves me correctly, and if things haven't changes all that much... I believe there is not much you can do to stop these types of attacks. If someone really wants to do it then they will. You can only really try and stop the effects of the attacks.
Old 04-26-2006, 06:45 PM
Techie

Oh, well I've heard of custom programs and firewalls. Like aplus.net and other dedicated server providers.
Old 04-26-2006, 07:38 PM
xMerCLorDx

- Don't make enemies.
- Don't promote immoral, unethical, sectarian, political, inhumane, anti-intellectual property products or services.

The list can continue, even to things you assume are good. Just don't piss off the wrong nerd.

A way to beat them to it if you know who is against your organization is to research the person and take control of their botnet before they tell it to kill your server.

Or the aftermath approach, take the server down, analyze all your logs and determine which sequences were of a DDoS style and ban all those IP's when you associate your server to a new IP/and/or hosting service.
Old 04-26-2006, 08:18 PM
Platinium Techie

Send a message via AIM to Tyler Send a message via MSN to Tyler

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpxxfaintxx
Oh, well I've heard of custom programs and firewalls. Like aplus.net and other dedicated server providers.
Yeah, you can go the firewall route, and it does help to a degree if properly configured. But again, if they really want to they will.
Old 04-27-2006, 06:43 AM
Techie