Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.


Go Back   Techwarelabs Community > Tech > Security, Privacy, & Spyware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-28-2006, 04:37 PM
Jason425 Jason425 is offline
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,353
Send a message via AIM to Jason425 Send a message via Yahoo to Jason425
Default

no - they just are less likely to respond than a more modernized country/ISP.
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1420 in Midnight Blue - Intel Core2Duo T7300 2.0GHZ/4MB - 2GB Ram - Nvidia 8400 GS 128mb - DVD/RW - 160GB 7200RPM - 14.1" Antiglare - Intel 4965AGN - Bluetooth 2.0 - 2MP Webcam - Vista Home Premium
2005 Mazda3i in Strato Blue
http://www.jasondsmith.net

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-28-2006, 05:19 PM
xMerCLorDx
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Or maybe the service would be expedited as there isn't beurocratic overhead?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:08 PM
james
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xMerCLorDx
Quote:
Originally Posted by James
With a DOS attack, you can generally call the ISP of the source and get them cut off. This becomes infinitely more difficult in the distributed scenario
I don't see how you could do this in realtime, unless it was only a single attacker. If a DDoS hit you it would take a long time to analyze the logs and determine what sequence the attack was working on.
that's exactly what i said. DOS is a single source attack. DDoS is multiple source. A DoS would be possible to cut off, a DDoS would be impossible
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:19 PM
xMerCLorDx
 
Posts: n/a
Default

impossible != infinitely more difficult
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-29-2006, 06:56 AM
lpxxfaintxx lpxxfaintxx is offline
Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 84
Default

Well, I know a forums that is getting DDoSed (still going and it's been 2 weeks). The problem is, we think the attacker lives in either China or Russia...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-30-2006, 12:02 AM
james
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
impossible != infinitely more difficult
actually, i think that is precisely what is meant by impossible. If you mean "difficult for some n>=N, s.t. N is not worth doing" then yea, != applies ;P
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum style by ForumMonkeys.