Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.


Go Back   Techwarelabs Community > Tech > Vendor Labs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-09-2004, 11:02 AM
creativeguy
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Jason was absolutely right about the software- you can control the "invasiveness" of our software. Just choose a custom installation for tons of options.
As to our cards: The Creative chips have a lot of kick. What other PCI card actually helps the CPU in processing (besides a video or capture card) Rhetorical question!
Take a look at some recent benchmarks. You'll be amazed. No other company has anything like the Audigy 2 in processing power or true audio quality. Competitive offerings make a stab at one or the other.

D
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-09-2004, 02:29 PM
vee_ess's Avatar
vee_ess vee_ess is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,781
Send a message via ICQ to vee_ess Send a message via AIM to vee_ess Send a message via MSN to vee_ess Send a message via Yahoo to vee_ess
Default

I don't know as much as I'd like to about the top-level sound cards, so I was wondering how the Audigy 2 and the Revolotion 7.1 compare.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-09-2004, 09:33 PM
creativeguy
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It's funny, I don't get many competitive sound card questions anymore. It's getting harder to find competition in retail- with the exception of Fry's Electronics.
The Audigy 2 is similar in audio quality to the card you mentioned. The processing power is the key here. However, the latest ZS cards can decode Dolby Dig EX and DTS ES in hardware.
As for gaming, the Audigy cards are the only ones to process EAX Advanced HD. Other cards handle an older version of EAX, but only in software.

Hope this helps facilitate discussion!

D
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-09-2004, 11:23 PM
Prometheus Prometheus is offline
Chronique Technique
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bellingham,WA
Posts: 3,058
Send a message via AIM to Prometheus
Default

If I wasnt saving for my x800 I might buy an audigy my onboard doesnt cut it...
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-10-2004, 12:46 AM
Jason425 Jason425 is offline
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,353
Send a message via AIM to Jason425 Send a message via Yahoo to Jason425
Default

pfft @ x800.. 9500 = pwnage until hl2 comes out.. which will never happen (well basically) so there is nothing to worry about.. hopefully they time it with the x880xt
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1420 in Midnight Blue - Intel Core2Duo T7300 2.0GHZ/4MB - 2GB Ram - Nvidia 8400 GS 128mb - DVD/RW - 160GB 7200RPM - 14.1" Antiglare - Intel 4965AGN - Bluetooth 2.0 - 2MP Webcam - Vista Home Premium
2005 Mazda3i in Strato Blue
http://www.jasondsmith.net

Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-10-2004, 12:47 AM
Prometheus Prometheus is offline
Chronique Technique
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bellingham,WA
Posts: 3,058
Send a message via AIM to Prometheus
Default

of course
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-10-2004, 04:40 AM
eviltechie
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hl2 comes out in sept i think
might be another fat cheque but that date is what newegg.com and walmart.com believes it to be

Audigy 2 is a great card
will the SB Live! 5.1 Platinum live drive work with Audigy 2 card?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-10-2004, 09:37 AM
creativeguy
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eviltechie
Audigy 2 is a great card
will the SB Live! 5.1 Platinum live drive work with Audigy 2 card?
Yes and No- for the newbies, the pinouts on the card and drive are different...so you can't use the cables that come w/ it. If you're careful, you could use an ide cable to do it, but not recommended.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-10-2004, 05:59 PM
vee_ess's Avatar
vee_ess vee_ess is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,781
Send a message via ICQ to vee_ess Send a message via AIM to vee_ess Send a message via MSN to vee_ess Send a message via Yahoo to vee_ess
Default

Can the Audigy encode Dolby Digital? I'm planning on eventually putting a preamp and amp with some real speakers, and that would make it a lot easier, reliable, and better in terms of performance.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-12-2004, 06:44 PM
creativeguy
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Dolby Digital was no problem, going all the way back to the Live!
For higher end Dolby D-EX or DTS, go for the Audigy 2ZS.
It's worth your while.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum style by ForumMonkeys.