Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.

Old 01-11-2003, 09:46 AM
Maverick

Default Al. case + S478 cooler

Hi all, I'm a newbie here, so welcome to ya all.

I was wondering if a Lian-Li PC71 case produces a lot of noise or not? I know it's not really case modding, but I like the looks of such a black aluminium case.

Second of all, I was wondering if any of you could recommend me a nice CPU cooler for my P4 2Ghz. I got the retail fan, but my processor runs at full load at 60°C. My opinion is that it's too hot, so I'm looking for a good cooling, but certainly quiet, solution.

Thanks.
Old 01-11-2003, 05:18 PM
CiKoTiC

Any case you buy don't normally generate a lot of noise, it's what you put in it that does. If you want to do some serious overclocking and don't want to put a bunch of noisy fans in the case, then you might want to go with watercooling. For general use without overclocking, a good HSF will do just fine without a lot of noise.

The AVC Sunflower is a great cooler that is very quiet. The CoolerMaster heat pipe is also one of the best at cooling but is very noisy.

Stay away from the Thermaltake Volcano series. They might look cool, but that's about the only cooling they do.

Here is a link that reviews just about every HSF out there.

http://www.pcstats.com/articlesearch...ch=Get+Listing
Old 01-12-2003, 08:28 AM
Maverick

Thanks for the great reaction...
I'm no overclocker and I don't want to become one too. I just want to cool down my P4.

I listened to the MP3 sample on the website you gave me, but it sounds like an extremely loud cooler in comparison to my standard Intel cooler. Is that normal or am I wrong?
Old 01-19-2003, 01:13 AM
Lab Master Techie

Send a message via AIM to Jason425 Send a message via Yahoo to Jason425