Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.


Go Back   Techwarelabs Community > Tech > Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-22-2006, 09:56 PM
Anne22747 Anne22747 is offline
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to Anne22747
Default ipconfig "not recognized as an internal or external com

HI, At the Command Prompt, when I enter ipconfig, I get "'ipconfig' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file." Any ideas on how to fix this? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-23-2006, 02:58 AM
vee_ess's Avatar
vee_ess vee_ess is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,781
Send a message via ICQ to vee_ess Send a message via AIM to vee_ess Send a message via MSN to vee_ess Send a message via Yahoo to vee_ess
Default

I'm attaching a copy of ipconfig.exe in a compressed folder. You can verify the file by looking at the version tab in it's properties. Extract the folder, and copy ipconfig.exe to the %SystemRoot%\System32 (most likely C:\WINDOWS\System32).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-2006, 11:32 PM
Anne22747 Anne22747 is offline
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to Anne22747
Default

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2006, 02:09 AM
Triumph Triumph is offline
Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 111
Default

I had this happen to an older system I used to use. I think it was caused by some kind of virus. So once you reinstall it, make sure you check your computer over with a fine-tooth comb.
__________________
Matter OVER Mind
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2006, 08:02 AM
Anne22747 Anne22747 is offline
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to Anne22747
Default thanks!

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2006, 11:00 AM
vee_ess's Avatar
vee_ess vee_ess is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,781
Send a message via ICQ to vee_ess Send a message via AIM to vee_ess Send a message via MSN to vee_ess Send a message via Yahoo to vee_ess
Default

You are welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-18-2006, 04:19 AM
regil regil is offline
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default

guys i hope someone here can help. tried all that solutions i can find here. but still my ICS/Firewall wont start. i cant even do an IPCONFIG
it displays:
error 2001: the specified driver is invalid.

which driver is he talking about? this pops when i run Win Firewall/ICS at services.msc

Appreciate your help. Iv been using this machine as a gateway for the whole house. i hope you guys can help me. Thanks

-regilb-
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-29-2007, 12:06 AM
nightchild nightchild is offline
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Can someone reupload the ipconfig file again?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-21-2007, 10:09 PM
vee_ess's Avatar
vee_ess vee_ess is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,781
Send a message via ICQ to vee_ess Send a message via AIM to vee_ess Send a message via MSN to vee_ess Send a message via Yahoo to vee_ess
Default

attached: ipconfig.zip
Extract ipconfig.exe to %SystemRoot%\System32
Attached Files
File Type: zip ipconfig.zip (18.3 KB, 61 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2007, 07:51 AM
rajanala rajanala is offline
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Default

not a big problem just do this and understand the concept behind it.
1.when we are going to start--> run-->cmd
it will open into the folder
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator---ok
2.when we are giving ipconfig means we are trying to execute a .exe file which is under that folder
if it is not there it will then give an error"unrecognized command or file"
3.but when we install the operating system our required file get installed in the folder
C:\WINDOWS\system32
that means if u go to C:\WINDOWS\system32
through dos command and give ipconfig it will work.
5.Then go to C:\WINDOWS\system32 and copy that ipconfig file and place it in
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator
and now run the command.problem solved...always be confident about ur basics it will help---

IF U ARE SATISFIED WITH THAT ANSWER MAIL ME AT rajanala.venkat@gmail.com
and any problem just ping me up

Last edited by rajanala : 12-15-2007 at 07:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum style by ForumMonkeys.