Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.


Go Back   Techwarelabs Community > Tech > Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2002, 11:21 PM
MG
 
Posts: n/a
Default Installing Xp after formatting the hard drive

I have formatted the hard drive on a pc and used a windows 98 floppy disk to startup and get to my cdrom, from the cdrom drive I have typed" i386\winnt.exe and installed the files to the hard disk from the XP cd, after this the computer reboots and goes to the blue setup screen and asks "press f6 to install a third party raid or scsi....." there after the PC does nothing. Am I missing something? If I am not mistaken Windows XP setup should have continued on. I need suggestions. Any thoughts?

In need of help,
MG
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2002, 11:51 PM
Uranium-235's Avatar
Uranium-235 Uranium-235 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Mansfield, TX
Posts: 2,469
Send a message via ICQ to Uranium-235 Send a message via AIM to Uranium-235
Default

when you reboot...take the CD out of the drive
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2002, 10:23 AM
xMerCLorDx
 
Posts: n/a
Default




oh don't mind me
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2002, 06:28 PM
vee_ess's Avatar
vee_ess vee_ess is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,781
Send a message via ICQ to vee_ess Send a message via AIM to vee_ess Send a message via MSN to vee_ess Send a message via Yahoo to vee_ess
Default

I think you should try booting off of your CD instead of your floppy. Also, you shoud disable any unused RAID or SCSI in the BIOS as it may be trying to detect it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-14-2003, 02:17 PM
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235
when you reboot...take the CD out of the drive
Try booting from the cd. You can install windows XP by selection to boot from the CD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2003, 03:59 PM
james
 
Posts: n/a
Default

and if you're using non-standard IDE channels (either RAID/extra ATA on your mobo or from a PCI card, do push F6 and install those drivers). Even if it's not in a raid setup, it will need the drivers to access that bus properly.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum style by ForumMonkeys.