Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.


Go Back   Techwarelabs Community > Tech > Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2006, 06:16 AM
Bob the Tomato Bob the Tomato is offline
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Yass, Australia
Posts: 1
Default NTLDR missing - whole new scenario

Hi, and thanks for reading. I also apologise for posting another topic on missing NTLDR, but I have read most of the other topics and found nothing to help me.

Here is my situation:
I have a Dell Inspiron 7000 laptop, 333mHz, with 64MB of RAM (i think) DVD drive, floppy, and 6GB hard drive. The problem is that most of the keys on the keyboard no longer work (they produce random characters), and for some reason it does not accept a PS-2 keyboard. I am, however, able to edit things in the BIOS without any issues.

The HDD being blank, and me being unable to used command prompt to install anything, I had a friend take the HDD, put it in his laptop and install Windows ME, and then upgrade to XP Pro.

Now, the HDD is back in my laptop, but it reports the NTLDR as missing every time I boot it.

I have tried a number of things including: booting from a floppy with the boot.ini, NTDETECT.COM and ntldr files; booting from the XP CD (which i dont think is s bootable), and removing the HDD, placing it in an external case and manually checking (the boot.ini file) and copying those three files from my other XP Pro system.

Your suggestions are valued... i will try anything!

Thanks again,
Bob[/url]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2006, 11:29 AM
vee_ess's Avatar
vee_ess vee_ess is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,781
Send a message via ICQ to vee_ess Send a message via AIM to vee_ess Send a message via MSN to vee_ess Send a message via Yahoo to vee_ess
Default

It is not recognizing the boot files (NTLDR, NTDETECT, etc.) because the when OS was installed, the hard drive was in a different hardware location (which parallel/serial port, which hard drive, which partition) than the location it is currently in. It will look in the wrong place. You can try editing the boot.ini file yourself, but you will come across other problems. I would suggest setting the boot order of your laptop to boot to your DVD drive first, and do a clean installation of XP Pro. If you need help with this we can give you plenty of assistance.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum style by ForumMonkeys.