Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.

  #1  
Old 05-31-2005, 07:36 PM
Uranium-235's Avatar
Uranium-235 Uranium-235 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Mansfield, TX
Posts: 2,469
Send a message via ICQ to Uranium-235 Send a message via AIM to Uranium-235
Default Copying one HD to another

I'm probably going to be getting a brand new hard drive. I need to copy EVERYTHING including the boot app to the new HD. Basically, I need to be able to copy everything over, and have it work exacly as the previous one did before. Filesystem is NTFS, OS is windows 2000 SP4. Anyone have any idea what programs that can do this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-31-2005, 08:48 PM
Tyler Tyler is offline
Platinium Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,078
Send a message via AIM to Tyler Send a message via MSN to Tyler
Default

I've never done it myself, but I know of Powerquest DriveCopy, Norton Ghost, and Drive2Drive.
__________________
Microsoft believes in making computing easier! What could be easier for consumers than having only ONE choice of software?!?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-31-2005, 09:58 PM
Jason425 Jason425 is offline
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,353
Send a message via AIM to Jason425 Send a message via Yahoo to Jason425
Default

doing that sort of thing over software is a big pain...and if you mess up, you're in BIG trouble...

just be REAL careful...
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1420 in Midnight Blue - Intel Core2Duo T7300 2.0GHZ/4MB - 2GB Ram - Nvidia 8400 GS 128mb - DVD/RW - 160GB 7200RPM - 14.1" Antiglare - Intel 4965AGN - Bluetooth 2.0 - 2MP Webcam - Vista Home Premium
2005 Mazda3i in Strato Blue
http://www.jasondsmith.net

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2005, 04:15 PM
james
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i know for linux, but not windows. maybe this will work in cygwin. (if there is a linux live cd that will do NTFS writing properly, just use it, not sure that exists though)

Code:
find /current/drive/mnt/point -xdev -print0 | cpio -pa0V /new/drive/mount/point
do that for each partition, throw in the new harddrive, and you'll be good to go. You'll need to create new partitions first, and they'll need to be big enough to cover (obviously).

edit: hmm, i'm not sure this will work with windows as you'd need to install a bootloader and i doubt this process will cover that. you might be able to dd if=/dev/hda of=/dev/hdc (hda=old drive hdc=new drive) not sure though.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum style by ForumMonkeys.