Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.


Go Back   Techwarelabs Community > Announcements > Site Announcements

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-07-2003, 12:15 PM
Loki
 
Posts: n/a
Default Question

I was just poking around and found this topic lying around. Atm i use trillian and have connected all my clients except for this "irc". I've never looked into it and do not know what it is. I always guessed it was just another chat program. If so if i go to that link and get this will I be able to link it to trillian and chat with all of you.

An explanation of irc would be appreciated as well.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-07-2003, 12:20 PM
Aemon_ Aemon_ is offline
Platinium Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brandon, UK
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to Aemon_
Default

IRC = Internet Relay Chat

irc is a protocal that you can both chat and transfer files over and crap like that.

maybe this will help. http://www.irchelp.org/irchelp/irctutorial.html

there are other people here much more irc smart than i am, but this should be a start.

later
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-07-2003, 07:45 PM
Loki
 
Posts: n/a
Default Hmm.

Alright Thanks. I read some of that and think i got the hang of it..

I went into the twl server and keefe and omega either cant hear me or are afk.

Still have a few questions. Could someone tell me how im suppose to connect trillian to the twl irc network? it gives me alot of information about "sername" and "port" to fill in and i have little idea of how to go about it. Thanks for the quick response Aemon!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-08-2003, 12:24 AM
Aemon_ Aemon_ is offline
Platinium Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brandon, UK
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to Aemon_
Default

the server is irc.techwarelabs.com, and the channel is #techwarelabs. i think the port is 6667.

no prob on the response, thats what were here for.

later
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-08-2003, 05:20 PM
Loki
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aemon_
the server is irc.techwarelabs.com, and the channel is #techwarelabs. i think the port is 6667.

no prob on the response, thats what were here for.

later
Hmm. I see a place for severname and port but not for channel. I can set my nick and there is a space for internet replay chat. bascially-doesnt work.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-09-2003, 12:51 AM
Aemon_ Aemon_ is offline
Platinium Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brandon, UK
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to Aemon_
Default

i've never used trillian, but i would think that you would log onto the server, then after you logged on you then could join a channel.


later
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-09-2003, 06:06 PM
Loki
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm not connecting to the irc network as far as i can tell..

Do i need to select anything from internet relay chat?

There is a "-" before severname. Does this need to be there or can i be deleted?

Under identt there is a port number thing to fill in and right next to servername there is one to fill in. I have filled them both in with 6667.

I toggled the irc connection and it gives me the message "couldnt resolve hostname"
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-09-2003, 06:18 PM
Loki
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Update: I took the "-" out of the severname and plugged in the rest of it. I know i did that before but it works now. I joined the channel and it works fine.

Great now i have all 5 trillian chat networks and can talk to the twl community.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-21-2003, 12:11 AM
Alex
 
Posts: n/a
Default <a href= http://cellphonewindow.tripod.com/SPAMSPAMSPAMSPAMSPAM-composer

ringtones ringtone
samsung ringbacks t
for ringbacks ringtone
free sony
ringtone tones ringtones
for ringtones midi
ringtone karineela ringtone
uploader ringtones k
odyssey wmv VHow
notes bluetooth
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-21-2003, 09:45 AM
Aemon_ Aemon_ is offline
Platinium Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Brandon, UK
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to Aemon_
Default

just get trillian or mirc

later
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum style by ForumMonkeys.