Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.

Old 07-29-2001, 04:30 PM
daluu

Default win 2k and 98 network problem

I had two windows 95 machines networked before. Just a few days ago, I replaced the os with Windows 2000 Server on 1 machine and Windows 98 on the other. I networked the two machines using the same properties. The windows 2000 Server machine which is set to be in a workgroup can see and access the win 98 machine. The win 98 machine can also see the win 2k machine but when I try to access it, I need a password to logon. I did not set any passwords for sharing. I'm new at win nt/2k networking, so I must be missing something. Can I have a 2-way network with win 2k and 98 or is it only going to be one way with a workgroup-type of network? If I can have 2-way, how do I do it?

Some things to note:

1) I don't want to use DHCP and DNS because my win 2k machine is not always-on, so the 2 machines can be on and off at different times.

2) I only have dial-up to internet.

3) Network is setup properly (win95/98-wise) with static IP addresses of 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.0.2 with subnet of 255.255.255.0 for LAN network. Using TCP/IP only. Hub, cables, and NIC ok. Computer can both see each other.
Old 07-29-2001, 05:48 PM
Administrator

Send a message via ICQ to Keefe Send a message via AIM to Keefe Send a message via MSN to Keefe Send a message via Yahoo to Keefe
Default Re: win 2k and 98 network problem