Techware Labs Header

Forums have moved

See this announcement for more details, or just go directly there.


Go Back   Techwarelabs Community > Tech > Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2005, 03:03 PM
vee_ess's Avatar
vee_ess vee_ess is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,781
Send a message via ICQ to vee_ess Send a message via AIM to vee_ess Send a message via MSN to vee_ess Send a message via Yahoo to vee_ess
Default How to fix "NTLDR is Missing" for Win XP

If you get the "NTLDR is Missing" error, follow these instructions:

1. Load Windows XP CD into CD drive.
2. Make sure BIOS is set to boot to CD drive.
3. Boot the computer from CD.
4. At menu, press "R" to load Recovery Console.
5. Select the installation to be fixed.
*The following instructions assume CD-ROM is labeled as drive D and the hard drive partition the windows installation is on is labeled as drive C. Replace the letters accordingly.
6. Type "COPY D:\i386\ntldr C:\" and press ENTER.
7. Type "COPY D:\i386\ntdetect.com C:\" and press ENTER.
8. Remove CD and type "EXIT" and press ENTER (to reboot your computer).

Reply with and questions/comments/issues.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2005, 12:42 AM
james
 
Posts: n/a
Default

typing fixboot and fixmbr may also prove useful
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-25-2005, 05:25 AM
Darkspark Darkspark is offline
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Default

What should I do if the NTLDR is continually missing.
By continually I now mean at least everyday. Its getting more frequent now. Pratically everytime I boot up my pc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2005, 06:52 PM
Zero_Oxide Zero_Oxide is offline
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default help!!

i had the same problem i git as far erasing the existing files on my hard drive. but i am stuck at the same for WINDOWS XP SET UP
can anyone help me .
__________________
I am a wannabe puter guy!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2005, 09:58 PM
Zero_Oxide Zero_Oxide is offline
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default ?

when you get the "ntldr missing" does that mean you may have a virus?
__________________
I am a wannabe puter guy!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2005, 10:01 AM
Tyler Tyler is offline
Platinium Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,078
Send a message via AIM to Tyler Send a message via MSN to Tyler
Default

No.
__________________
Microsoft believes in making computing easier! What could be easier for consumers than having only ONE choice of software?!?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2005, 08:15 PM
Jason425 Jason425 is offline
Lab Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,353
Send a message via AIM to Jason425 Send a message via Yahoo to Jason425
Default

It can.... if the virus hosed your ntldr
__________________
Dell Inspiron 1420 in Midnight Blue - Intel Core2Duo T7300 2.0GHZ/4MB - 2GB Ram - Nvidia 8400 GS 128mb - DVD/RW - 160GB 7200RPM - 14.1" Antiglare - Intel 4965AGN - Bluetooth 2.0 - 2MP Webcam - Vista Home Premium
2005 Mazda3i in Strato Blue
http://www.jasondsmith.net

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:54 PM
Tyler Tyler is offline
Platinium Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,078
Send a message via AIM to Tyler Send a message via MSN to Tyler
Default

True, never thought of it that way.
__________________
Microsoft believes in making computing easier! What could be easier for consumers than having only ONE choice of software?!?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-09-2006, 03:00 PM
BenKen BenKen is offline
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Last night I installed XP SP2 onto my new RAID-0 array (2x SATA-IO Seagate 7200.10 320GB). I did have a previous version of XP on a seperate SATA drive but I thought this unimportant.

I have a nForce 4 chipset which requires seperate RAID drivers for Windows, I followed the instructions to create a bootable RAID XP system and everything went well, the system was up and running, I even installed all of my software and transferred all of my files. Woo.

Last thing i did last night was to delete a lot of my files off of the disk with the old XP installation, including all the files in the root directory. Little did I know, nor consider that the all important boot information was contained on this disk and not the raid array. Damn.

Starting the computer this morning, a pleasant "NTLDR is Missing" error appears. I remove the old hard drive, leaving just the array in place, restart, and it gives a new error: "DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK...etc".

I try fixing the problem with the method used above, but loading in the "third party raid drivers" courtesy of nVIDIA and running "fixboot c:\" at the end. No luck. I try a system recovery but still no luck. I have tried everything i can think of but still windows does not start. The recovery console reads the array just fine, and the nVIDIA RAID initialisation screen agrees the array to be "HEALTHY". What can I do??

Thanks in advance

Ben Ken
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-10-2006, 04:37 AM
vee_ess's Avatar
vee_ess vee_ess is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,781
Send a message via ICQ to vee_ess Send a message via AIM to vee_ess Send a message via MSN to vee_ess Send a message via Yahoo to vee_ess
Default

I would just deltree C:\Windows and start a fresh installation. First make sure you go into your BIOS and have it boot to RAID before HD-0. It takes about 20 minutes, but at least you know it'll work.
__________________

It's not a car, it's an addiction.
The only carb that matters is under the hood.
There's an option for most vehicles that increases brake horsepower, increases mileage, increases driver control, lasts longer than the alternative, and even reduces the price of the vehicle. Despite all this, most people in this country choose the alternative, an automatic transmission.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Forum style by ForumMonkeys.